Pedro Reyes, The Museum of Hypothetical Lifetimes, 2011–heute/present, Courtesy Contemporary Art Museum (CAM) St. Louis, Foto/Photo: David Johnson.

Pedro Reyes: Sociatry
With a stage for Lina Bo Bardi

26.03.2022 –
14.08.2022

In a first extensive exhibition in Europe, the Marta Herford presents the Mexican artist Pedro Reyes, who caused an international sensation in 2012 inter alia with his major installation “Sanatorium” at the Kassel dOCUMENTA (13). As an interdisciplinary border crosser, Reyes is engaged in the promotion of the social effectiveness of art, architecture and design.

 

With his sculptural practice against violence as well as for an intensive community engagement, he opens up highly topical perspectives which at the same time bridge the gap to theatre, political activism and psychology. The term “Sociatry” was coined by the social scientist Jacob Levy Moreno, who developed a series of therapies for the healing of society. As well as several large groups of works, there are also contributions produced especially for this exhibition that allow the visitors to participate actively.

In addition to this, the artist prepares the stage for an extensive presentation of drawings, photographs, and models of the Italian-Brazilian architect, Lina Bo Bardi, who died in 1992. She anticipated many of today’s urgent topics. By putting conventional value concepts to the test and asking the question as to how Latin-American principles can be transferred to a different global context, the projects give rise to dialogues beyond time and space.

Curatorial advice for the project on Lina Bo Bardi: Julieta González

For the “Island at Marta”, Robert Barta built the walk-in installation „Sensing the wave“ (2022), which playfully deals with movement and unusual perspectives.

 

Artists

Pedro Reyes, Lina Bo Bardi, Robert Barta

Thank you

Exhibition benefactor

Exhibition supporter

Benefactor “Island at Marta“

Other supporters

Collaboration partners

University of Paderborn / Faculty for Cultural Studies and the Municipal Library Herford

Marta partners
Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners and Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Pedro Reyes, The Museum of Hypothetical Lifetimes, 2011–heute/present, Courtesy Contemporary Art Museum (CAM) St. Louis, Foto/Photo: David Johnson.

Pedro Reyes: Sociatry
Mit einer Bühne für Lina Bo Bardi

26.03.2022 –
14.08.2022

In einer ersten umfassenden Werkschau in Europa präsentiert das Marta Herford den mexikanischen Künstler Pedro Reyes, der unter anderem 2012 mit seiner großen Installation „Sanatorium“ zur Kasseler dOCUMENTA (13) für internationales Aufsehen sorgte. Als interdisziplinärer Grenzgänger tritt Reyes für eine soziale Wirksamkeit von Kunst, Architektur und Design ein.

 

Mit seinen skulpturalen Konzepten gegen Gewalt sowie für ein intensives Gemeinschaftserleben und mehr Teilhabe eröffnet er höchst aktuelle Perspektiven, die zugleich die Brücke zum Theater, zu politischen Aktivismus und der Psychologie schlagen. Der Begriff „Sociatry“ wurde von dem Sozialwissenschaftler Jacob Levy Moreno geprägt, der eine Reihe von Therapien zur Heilung der Gesellschaft entwickelte. Neben mehreren großen Werkgruppen entstehen auch eigens für diese Ausstellung produzierte Beiträge, die den Besuchenden eine aktive Beteiligung ermöglichen.

Darüber hinaus bereitet der Künstler die Bühne für eine umfangreiche Präsentation von Zeichnungen, Fotografien und Modellen der 1992 verstorbenen italienisch-brasilianischen Architektin Lina Bo Bardi. Sie nahm viele der heute brisanten Themen bereits vorweg. Indem die Projekte gängige Wertvorstellungen auf den Prüfstand stellen und die Frage aufwerfen, wie sich lateinamerikanische Prinzipien auf einen anderen globalen Kontext übertragen lassen, entstehen Dialoge über die Zeiten und Räume hinweg.

Kuratorische Beratung für das Projekt mit Lina Bo Bardi: Julieta González

Für die „Insel im Marta“ hat Robert Barta die begehbare Installation „Sensing the wave“ (2022) gebaut, die sich spielerisch mit Bewegung und ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven beschäftigt.

 

Künstler*innen

Pedro Reyes, Lina Bo Bardi, Robert Barta

Dank

Ausstellungsförderer

Ausstellungsunterstützer

Förderer „Insel im Marta“

Weitere Unterstützer

Kooperationspartner

Universität Paderborn / Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften und Stadtbibliothek Herford

Marta-Partner
Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.