Zhanna Kadyrova, Second Hand, 2015-2019, scaffolding, ceramics collected from Darnitsky Silk Factory, cement, wood, Courtesy: the artist and GALLERIA CONTINUA, San Gimignano / Beijing / Les Moulins / Habana Photo by: Ela Bialkowska, OKNO Studio

Look!
Exposing Art and Fashion
14.11.2020 – 11.04.2021

A publication is being prepared

Publication

Soon more on the blog (German)

Fashion has always been a delicate balance between social norms and individual self-expression. Today more than ever, however, the focus is on questions of functionality and shelf-life, consumption pressure and production conditions.

 

At the same time, garments are being produced, worn and discarded in unprecedented quantities and speed. In our contemporary world, fashion has become a complex system of meaning, in which affiliation, self-representation, style and pretensions are reflected.

It is this very symbolic force that contemporary artists use for fascinating expeditions to our everyday lives. Beyond compulsive consumerism and design icons, in this major theme exhibition they make fashion experienceable as an exciting narrative about our complex society.

 

Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Zhanna Kadyrova, Second Hand, 2015-2019, scaffolding, ceramics collected from Darnitsky Silk Factory, cement, wood, Courtesy: the artist and GALLERIA CONTINUA, San Gimignano / Beijing / Les Moulins / Habana Photo by: Ela Bialkowska, OKNO Studio

Look!
Enthüllungen zu Kunst und Fashion
14.11.2020 – 11.04.2021

Eine Publikation ist in Vorbereitung

Publikation

bald mehr im Blog

Mode war schon immer ein raffiniertes Spiel zwischen gesellschaftlichen Normen und individuellem Ausdruckswillen. Mehr denn je aber geraten heute Fragen nach Funktionalität und Haltbarkeit, Konsumdruck und Produktionsbedingungen in den Fokus.

 

Zugleich werden Kleidungsstücke in nie dagewesener Menge und Geschwindigkeit hergestellt, getragen und abgelegt. Mode als ‚Fashion‘ hat sich in unserer Gegenwart zu einem komplexen Bedeutungssystem entwickelt, in dem sich Zugehörigkeit, Selbstdarstellung, Stile und Ansprüche spiegeln.

Genau diese Symbolkraft nutzen zeitgenössische Künstler*innen für faszinierende Expeditionen in den gesellschaftlichen Alltag. Jenseits von Bekleidungszwang und Design-Ikonen machen sie Mode in dieser großen Themenausstellung als schillernde Erzählung über unsere komplexe Gegenwart erlebbar.

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.