Cinthia Marcelle, The Family in Disorder, 2018

Cinthia Marcelle
Disobedient Tools

04.02.2023 –
29.05.2023

The Marta Herford shows the first survey exhibition of
the internationally renowned artist Cinthia Marcelle
(*1974 in Belo Horizonte, Brazil) in the German speaking region. Since the end of the 1990s, she is critically addressing in videos, sculptures, photographs, installations, and performances established and hierarchising social structures that organise our everyday togetherness.

In order to break down entrenched mechanisms and forms of organisation and negotiate new ones, Marcelle relies on methods of collective action: the artist initiates situations designed as collaborative-performative actions. In doing so, she passes on control and authorship of the form and narrative of her works to others chosen by her.

At the centre of the exhibition “Disobedient Tools” is the installation “Family in Disorder” (2018), composed of a conceptually determined selection of locally traded materials such as bricks, barrels, chalk, stones, shoelaces, matchboxes, cotton fabric and more. Half of the building materials form an accurate, space-dividing, static barricade in one room. In contrast, the second half of the material is staged over six days by museum employees without external aids. The completed installation represents, in a figurative sense, the formalised product of the collaborative negotiation process and condenses into an impressively artistic formal language, which, however, was not created by the artist as a genius but as a process.

Thank you

Marta partners
Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners and Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Cinthia Marcelle, The Family in Disorder, 2018

Cinthia Marcelle
Ungehorsame Werkzeuge

04.02.2023 –
29.05.2023

In einer ersten umfassenden Überblicksschau im deutschsprachigen Raum präsentiert das Marta Herford die brasilianische Künstlerin Cinthia Marcelle (*1974 in Belo Horizonte, Brasilien), die sich seit Ende der 1990er Jahre in Videos, Skulpturen, Fotografien, Installationen und Performances kritisch mit etablierten und hierarchisierenden sozialen Strukturen auseinandersetzt, die unser alltägliches Miteinander organisieren.

Um verfestigte Mechanismen und Organisationsformen aufzubrechen und neue auszuhandeln setzt Marcelle auf Methoden des kollektiven Handelns: Die Künstlerin initiiert Situationen, die als kollaborativ-performative Aktionen angelegt sind. Dabei gibt sie die Kontrolle und Autorschaft über Form und Narrativ ihrer Werke an andere, von ihr ausgewählte Personen, weiter.

Im Zentrum der Ausstellung „Ungehorsame Werkzeuge“ steht die Installation „Family in Disorder“ (2018), welche sich aus einer konzeptionell festgelegten Auswahl an lokal-handelsüblichen Materialien wie Ziegelsteinen, Fässern, Kreide, Steinen, Schnürsenkeln, Streichholzschachteln, Baumwollstoff und mehr zusammensetzt. Die Hälfte der Baustoffe bildet in einem Raum eine akkurate, raumtrennende und statische Barrikade, während die zweite Hälfte des Materials von Mitarbeiter*innen des Museums über sechs Tage und ohne externe Hilfsmittel in Szene gesetzt wird. Die abgeschlossene Installation stellt im übertragenden Sinne das formalisierte Produkt des gemeinschaftlichen Aushandlungsprozesses dar und verdichtet sich zu einer beeindruckend künstlerischen Formensprache, die jedoch nicht von der Künstlerin als Genius, sondern als Prozess kreiert wurde.

Dank

Marta-Partner
Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.