The World of Images
Everyone is a Producer
Symposium postponed to 17.10.2020!

Every year, curators from all over the world meet at a different attractive hotspot of the art world for an international congress. In 2020 the IKT will take place in Westphalia, and the Marta Herford is host and organizer of an integrated symposium on the subject of digitality and image production.

 

Images are everywhere. They determine our daily lives in a diversity and intensity as never before. Their simple digital production, availability and manipulability make every individual a producer, curator of his or her own life. Digital images determine how we present ourselves and how we remember. They are part of a social self-insurance which has already extended to the museums. What does it mean when the digitalization of the image plays a central role both in the public exhibition sector and in one’s private everyday life? How can or must the roles of artists, institutions and visitors change if the relevant image production is no longer exclusively in professionals hand but can be assumed perspectively by anyone?

These questions are illuminated from three different perspectives. Glenn Cantave (New York), Anika Meier (Hamburg) and Kay Watson (London) are invited as speakers. With three theoretical impulses they will talk about digital image and art production and its effects on exhibitions, artists and the audience.

Place and time

The symposium takes place on 17.10.2020 at 3 pm in the Forum of the Museum Marta Herford.

Attendance

The symposium is organized in collaboration with the Kultursekretariat NRW Gütersloh so that the circle of IKT members is already extended by numerous representatives of the member cities. The symposium is open to the public. Anyone who is interested is warmly invited to attend.

Ticket: Regular 13 Euros, Concession 6 Euros, without registration

The symposium will take place in English.

Glenn Cantave: “Redefining Monuments with Augmented Reality”

Photo: Ryan Lash/TED

Supported by NEW INC, an incubator for art, design, and technology with the New Museum of Contemporary Art, “Movers and Shakers” are prototyping an augmented reality monuments exhibition for various sites in New York City. The idea is to empower New York City residents to see digital monuments of women and people of color in the streets in the form of a tour – a possibility to highlight these narratives without permission and bring their content to communities that lack access to museums. The AR monuments will exist in public spaces and in school curricula.

Glenn Cantave is an activist, performance artist and social entrepreneur who uses immersive technology to highlight the narratives of the oppressed. He leads “Movers & Shakers”, a non-profit collective of artists, activists, educators, and technologists, and started hosting teach-ins/ pop-up augmented reality exhibits in an effort to advocate for the removal of the statue of Christopher Columbus at Columbus Circle. The group recently won the Verizon 5G Ed Tech Challenge, where they are creating an AR workbook that teaches middle school English students about underrepresented icons. Verizon has committed to releasing the workbook in 100 middle schools nationwide by September 2021.

Anika Meier: “Link in Bio. Artists in the Age of Social Media”
Signe Pierce and Thomas Webb in Conversation with Anika Meier

Signe Pierce, Anika Meier, Thomas Webb

The use of social media has become an everyday activity, one that established and emerging artists cannot, and indeed do not want to, do without. They work with it. Signe Pierce (New York) and Thomas Webb (London) are at the forefront of a young generation of artists that reflect the current digital age. In conversation with Anika Meier, starting with a brief introduc-tion to the general aspects of the topic, Pierce and Webb will speak about their artistic practice and why social media for them is a tool.

Anika Meier, is an independent writer and curator, and writes a column on art and social media for Monopol. Her texts have appeared in Die Zeit, FAZ, Die Welt, Spiegel Online, and many others. Most recent exhibition projects include “Link in Bio. Art after Social Media” (2019/20) and “Virtual Normality. Women Net Artists 2.0” (2018) at Museum of Fine Arts in Leipzig, or “On the Internet Nobody Knows You Are a Performance Artist. Andy Kassier & Signe Pierce live” at NRW-Forum in Düsseldorf (2018). Signe Pierce describes herself as a reality artist: “I am pop and I am art. I am digital and I am physical. I am virtual and I am real”. Thomas Webb is a London based new media artist. He uses electrical engineering, AI, machine learning and computer programming to portrait his views on contemporary post-internet life.

Kay Watson: “Building Worlds: Contemporary Art, Immersive Technologies and Video Games”

In her short lecture, Watson examines current artistic and curatorial practices at the intersec-tion of art and advanced technology, in particular CGI, video games and immersive technolo-gies. She uses the Serpentine Galleries Digital Programme for commissions, exhibitions and research in 2013–20 as a framework, focusing on the impact of recent technological develop-ments on curatorial and operational modes, and on methods of supporting experimental practices.

Kay Watson is a researcher, curator and archivist specializing in art and advanced technologies, photography and feminist, curatorial and institutional histories of art. She is currently Digital Curator at Serpentine Galleries, London, and a PhD student at Birkbeck, University of London. Recent projects include Jakob Kudsk Steensen, The Deep Listener (2019) and Catharsis (2020); Hito Steyerl, Actual Reality OS (2019); Suzanne Treister, From SURVIVOR (F) to The Escapist BHST (Black Hole Spacetime) (2019); Jenna Sutela, I Magma (2019); Ian Cheng, BOB and Emissar-ies (2018) and The Serpentine Podcast (2018-20). She has worked at The Photographers’ Gallery, Art Night at the ICA and the Contemporary Art Society.

 

What is the IKT?

More than 700 curators from all over the world are today part of the IKT network (International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art, www.ikt-site.org). It was founded in 1973 in Germany by, among others, Harald Szeemann, Eberhard Roters and Eddy de Wilde (at the time under the name of “Internationaler Kuratoren-Tag” – IKT). Once every year this association meets in a different country for the IKT congress including an accompanying program of visits. The congress is organized by the office in collaboration with local partners. Stops up to now have included Brussels 2016, Oslo 2017, Danzig 2018 and Miami 2019. For the year 2020, the Kunsthalle Osnabrück, the Marta Herford and the art association “hase29” in Osnabrück were successful with their (quite extraordinary) joint application “Westphalia 2020”.

In cooperation with

The World of Images
Everyone is a Producer
Symposion verschoben auf den 17.10.2020!

Jedes Jahr treffen sich Kurator*innen aus aller Welt zu einem internationalen Kongress an einem anderen besuchenswerten Hotspot der Kunstwelt. 2020 findet der IKT in Westfalen statt und das Marta Herford ist Gastgeber und Veranstalter eines integrierten Symposions zum Thema Digitalität und Bildproduktion.

 

Bilder sind überall. Sie bestimmen unseren Alltag in einer Vielfalt und Intensität wie nie zuvor. Ihre einfache digitale Produktion, Verfügbarkeit und Manipulierbarkeit machen jeden Menschen zur*m Produzent*in, zur*m Kurator*in des eigenen Lebens. Digitale Bilder bestimmen die eigene Inszenierung ebenso wie die Erinnerung. Sie sind Teil einer gesellschaftlichen Selbstversicherung, die sich längst auch schon bis in die Museen erstreckt. Was bedeutet es, wenn die Digitalisierung des Bildes gleichermaßen im öffentlichen Ausstellungswesen wie im privaten Alltag eine zentrale Rolle spielt? Wie können oder müssen sich die Rollen von Künstler*innen, Institutionen und Besucher*innen ändern, wenn die relevante Bildproduktion nicht mehr exklusiv in professionellen Händen liegt, sondern perspektivisch von jeder*m übernommen werden kann?

 

Diese Fragen werden aus drei unterschiedlichen Perspektiven beleuchtet. Als Referent*innen wurden eingeladen: Glenn Cantave (New York), Anika Meier (Hamburg) und Kay Watson (London). Sie werden mit drei theoretischen Impulsen über digitale Bild- und Kunstproduktion und ihre Auswirkungen für Ausstellungen, Künstler*innen und das Publikum sprechen.

 

Ort und Zeit

Das Symposion findet am 17.10.2020 um 15 Uhr im Forum des Museums Marta Herford statt.

Teilnahme

Das Symposion wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kultursekretariat NRW Gütersloh veranstaltet, sodass der Kreis der IKT-Mitglieder bereits um zahlreiche Vertreter*innen der Mitgliedsstädte erweitert wird. Grundsätzlich ist das Symposion öffentlich zugänglich, jede*r Interessierte ist herzlich zur Teilnahme eingeladen.

Ticket: 13 Euro, ermäßigt 6 Euro (inkl. Ausstellungseintritt), ohne Anmeldung

Das gesamte Symposion wird in englischer Sprache stattfinden.

Glenn Cantave: „Redefining Monuments with Augmented Reality“

Photo: Ryan Lash/TED

Unterstützt von NEW INC, einem Inkubator für Kunst, Design und Technologie mit dem New Museum of Contemporary Art, erstellt das Kollektiv „Movers and Shakers“ Prototypen einer Ausstellung mit Augmented-Reality-Denkmälern für verschiedene Standorte in New York City. Die Idee ist es, den New-Yorker-Einwohner*innen zu ermöglichen, digitale Denkmäler von Frauen und people of color in Form einer Tour durch den öffentlichen Raum zu sehen – eine Möglichkeit, diese Erzählungen auch ohne Erlaubnis hervorzuheben und ihre Inhalte an Menschen weiterzuleiten, die keinen Zugang zu Museen haben. Die AR-Denkmäler werden im öffentlichen Raum vorhanden sein und in die Lehrpläne der Schulen aufgenommen.

Glenn Cantave ist ein Aktivist, Performancekünstler und Social Entrepreneur, der mithilfe immersiver Technologie die Erzählungen von Unterdrückten hervorhebt. Er leitet „Movers & Shakers“, ein gemeinnütziges Kollektiv von Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Pädagog*innen und Techniker*innen, und veranstaltete Teach-Ins / Pop-up-Exponate mit erweiterter Realität, um sich für die Entfernung der Statue von Christoph Kolumbus am Columbus Circle einzusetzen. Die Gruppe hat kürzlich die Verizon 5G Ed Tech Challenge gewonnen, indem sie ein AR-Arbeitsbuch erstellten, mit dessen Hilfe Englischschüler*innen der Mittelstufe unterrepräsen-tierte Ikonen vermittelt werden können. Der Telekommunikationskonzern Verizon hat sich verpflichtet, das Arbeitsbuch bis September 2021 landesweit in 100 Mittelschulen zu veröffentli-chen.

Anika Meier: „Link in Bio. Artists in the Age of Social Media“
Signe Pierce und Thomas Webb im Gespräch mit Anika Meier

Signe Pierce, Anika Meier, Thomas Webb

Die Nutzung sozialer Medien ist zu einer alltäglichen Aktivität geworden, auf die etablierte und aufstrebende Künstler*innen nicht verzichten können und wollen. Stattdessen arbeiten sie damit. Signe Pierce (New York) und Thomas Webb (London) stehen an der Spitze einer jungen Generation von Künstler*innen, die das aktuelle Zeitalter der Digitalität widerspiegeln. Nach einer kurzen Einführung in die allgemeinen Aspekte des Themas spricht Anika Meier mit Pierce und Webb über ihre künstlerische Praxis und erörtert mit ihnen, inwiefern Social Media für sie ein Werkzeug ist.

Anika Meier ist eine freie Autorin und Kuratorin und schreibt eine Kolumne über Kunst und soziale Medien für die Monopol. Ihre Texte sind unter anderem in Die Zeit, FAZ, Die Welt und Spiegel Online erschienen. Zu ihren jüngsten Ausstellungsprojekten gehört „Link in Bio. Art after Social Media“ (2019/20) und „Virtual Normality. Women Net Artists 2.0“(2018) im Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig oder „On the Internet Nobody Knows You Are a Performance Artist. Andy Kassier & Signe Pierce live“ im NRW-Forum in Düsseldorf (2018). Signe Pierce beschreibt sich selbst als Reality-Künstlerin: „Ich bin Pop und ich bin Kunst. Ich bin digital und ich bin physisch. Ich bin virtuell und ich bin real “. Thomas Webb ist ein in London ansässiger New-Media-Künstler. Er verwendet Elektrotechnik, KI, maschinelles Lernen und Computerprogrammierung, um seine Ansichten über das zeitgenössische Leben nach dem Internet darzustellen.

Kay Watson: „Building Worlds: Contemporary Art, Immersive Technologies and Video Games“

In ihrem Vortrag untersucht Kay Watson aktuelle künstlerische und kuratorische Praktiken an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und fortschrittlicher Technologie, insbesondere CGI, Videospiele und immersive Technologien. Sie nutzt das digitale Programm der Serpentine Gallery für Aufträge, Ausstellungen und Forschungsarbeiten in den Jahren 2013–20. Dabei konzentriert sie sich auf die Auswirkungen der jüngsten technologischen Entwicklungen auf die kuratorischen und operativen Modi sowie auf Methoden zur Unterstützung experimenteller Praktiken.

Kay Watson ist Forscherin, Kuratorin und Archivarin, die sich auf Kunst und fortschrittliche Technologien, Fotografie und feministische, kuratorische und institutionelle Kunstgeschichte spezialisiert hat. Derzeit ist sie Digital Curator an der Serpentine Gallery in London und Doktorandin an der Birkbeck, University of London. Zu ihren jüngsten Projekten gehören Jakob Kudsk Steensen, The Deep Listener (2019) und Catharsis (2020); Hito Steyerl, Actual Reality OS (2019); Suzanne Treister, Von SURVIVOR (F) zu The Escapist BHST (Black Hole Spacetime) (2019); Jenna Sutela, I Magma (2019); Ian Cheng, BOB und Emissaries (2018) und The Serpentine Podcast (2018-20). Sie hat bereits bei der The Photographers’ Gallery, der Art Night des ICA und der Contemporary Art Society gearbeitet.

Was ist der IKT?

Mehr als 700 Kurator*innen aus aller Welt gehören heute zum IKT-Netzwerk (International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art, www.ikt-site.org). Es wurde 1973 unter anderem von Harald Szeemann, Eberhard Roters und Eddy de Wilde in Deutschland gegründet (damals unter dem Namen Internationaler Kuratoren-Tag). Einmal jährlich trifft sich dieser Verbund in einem anderen Land zum IKT-Kongress inklusive einem gemeinsamen Besuchsprogramm. Der Kongress wird von der Geschäftsstelle in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern organisiert, Stationen waren u.a. Brüssel 2016, Oslo 2017, Danzig 2018 und Miami 2019. Für das Jahr 2020 waren die Kunsthalle Osnabrück, das Marta Herford und der Kunstverein hase29 in Osnabrück mit ihrer (durchaus ungewöhnlichen) Gemeinschaftsbewerbung „Westfalen 2020“ erfolgreich.

In Kooperation mit dem