Lothar Götz: Vision of a Corner (Detail), 2013

Visions
An Atmosphere of Change
25.05. – 08.09.2013

Katalog Visionen

Catalogue

Exhibition trailer (German)

For the first time an exhibition is dedicated extensively to the phenomenon of vision in contemporary art. In what way does it differ from the utopia, what energies does it hold for the active shaping of the future?

 

Inspired by the first apparition of the Virgin Mary north of the Alps, the Herford apparition from the 10th century, “Visions” embarks on an unconventional, highly stimulating journey through a wide range of contexts and phenomena, allowing the viewer to trace the spirit and the atmosphere of visionary thought and formation. Arising from inner worlds, visions bring to light a changeable reality. What effects are generated by visions? Why is it that they are so shrouded in mystery? What is revealed here is an almost infinite potential.

Visions arise on the borderline between known and unknown worlds: Visions articulate wishes and demands, attempting thus to intervene in current affairs. Artists in particular have a great sensitivity to visionary discoveries. They open up new images of the future and illuminate hitherto unknown scope for action.

 

Artists

Franz Ackermann, Francis Alÿs, Benjamin Bergmann, Michaël Borremans, Guillaume Bruère, Mel Chin, Walter Dahn, Christoph Dettmeier, Felix Droese, Carola Ernst, Andrea Fogli, Andrew Gilbert, Lothar Götz, Jana Gunstheimer, David Hammons, Steven C. Harvey, Jeppe Hein, Peggy & Thomas Henke, Christian Jankowski, Almut Linde, Christof Mascher, E. S. Mayorga, Gianni Motti, Matt Mullican, Mwangi Hutter, Panamarenko, Dan Perjovschi, Ulrich Pester, Anne-Julie Raccoursier, Werner Reiterer, Thomas Ruff, Andreas Slominski, Johanna Tiedtke, Jorinde Voigt, Lawrence Weiner

 

Thank you

Ausstellungsförderer

Logo Kunststiftung NRW

 

Ausstellungssponsor

Logo e.on

 

Cultural cooperation

Logo DB Bahn

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Lothar Götz: Vision of a Corner (Detail), 2013

Visionen
Atmosphären der Veränderung
25.05. – 08.09.2013

Katalog Visionen

Katalog

Ausstellungstrailer

Erstmals widmet sich eine Ausstellung ausführlich dem Phänomen der Vision in der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Wie unterscheidet sie sich von der Utopie, welche Energien liegen in ihr für eine aktive Zukunftsgestaltung?

 

Die Herforder Marienvision aus dem 10. Jh. bildet den Ankerpunkt der Ausstellung „Visionen“, in welcher zeitgenössische Kunst einen sinnlichen, alltagsnahen und erhellenden Zugang zu seherischem Denken und Empfinden ermöglicht. Aus inneren Welten bringen Visionen Eindrücke einer wandelbaren Wirklichkeit ans Licht. Welche Wirkungen erzeugen Visionen? Was ist Teil ihres geheimnisumwobenen Wesens? Sichtbar wird ein schier unendliches Potenzial.

Visionen entstehen auf der Grenzlinie zwischen bekannten und unbekannten Welten, zwischen offener Gegenwart und naher Zukunft: Visionen artikulieren Wünsche und Forderungen, wollen damit in das aktuelle Zeitgeschehen eingreifen. Besonders Künstler zeigen ein sensibles Gespür gegenüber visionären Entdeckungen. Sie eröffnen neue Zukunftsbilder und beleuchten bisher ungeahnte Handlungsspielräume.

 

KünstlerInnen

Franz Ackermann, Francis Alÿs, Benjamin Bergmann, Michaël Borremans, Guillaume Bruère, Mel Chin, Walter Dahn, Christoph Dettmeier, Felix Droese, Carola Ernst, Andrea Fogli, Andrew Gilbert, Lothar Götz, Jana Gunstheimer, David Hammons, Steven C. Harvey, Jeppe Hein, Peggy & Thomas Henke, Christian Jankowski, Almut Linde, Christof Mascher, E. S. Mayorga, Gianni Motti, Matt Mullican, Mwangi Hutter, Panamarenko, Dan Perjovschi, Ulrich Pester, Anne-Julie Raccoursier, Werner Reiterer, Thomas Ruff, Andreas Slominski, Johanna Tiedtke, Jorinde Voigt, Lawrence Weiner

 

Dank

Ausstellungsförderer

Logo Kunststiftung NRW

 

Ausstellungssponsor

Logo e.on

 

Kulturkooperation

Logo DB Bahn

 

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.