Exhibition view

Roger Ballen

Roger Ballen
Photographs 1969–2009
22.04. – 05.08.2012

Katalog Roger Ballen

Catalogue (out of stock)

Exhibition trailer (German)

The photography of Roger Ballen, who was born in 1950 in New York and has spent many years in South Africa, continues to bewilder. His pictures turn people and places around Johannesburg into surreal documents of a way of life on the edge of society.

 

In several extensive series, Ballen tackles subjects such as the descendants of the South African Boers, their lifestyle, and the image they maintain. His approach is to try and pinpoint both the unfamiliar and emotional turmoil. When Ballen published his series of photos entitled ‘Dorps’ (1994), it triggered strong reactions at home and abroad which repeatedly questioned the relationship between documentation and fiction.

Roger Ballen’s photographs convey aggression and vulnerability, yet also reflect his search for concealed, unconscious elements – which frequently take on a nightmarish appearance. They open up views of “a quiet, introverted, vulnerable and wounded world” (Evelyn Weiss). His imagery often resembles daydreams. Especially in his younger works, each photo is regarded by the artist as part of a cryptic self. As a result, his photography is an encounter between real places and a world perceived as a surreal.

This representative compilation of more than 200 photos (some large-format) includes examples from throughout his career and was a resounding success when displayed at Munich Stadtmuseum in 2010.

 

Thank you

Exhibition sponsor

 

Logo e.on Westfalen Weser

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Blick in die Ausstellung

Roger Ballen

Roger Ballen
Fotografien 1969–2009
22.04. – 05.08.2012

Katalog Roger Ballen

Katalog (vergriffen)

Ausstellungstrailer

Der 1950 in New York geborene und seit vielen Jahren in Südafrika lebende Fotograf Roger Ballen irritiert nachhaltig. Seine Bilder inszenieren Menschen und Orte rund um Johannisburg zu surrealen Dokumenten eines Lebens am Rande der Gesellschaft.

 

In mehreren großen Serien beschäftigt sich Ballen unter anderem mit den Nachfahren der südafrikanischen Buren, mit ihrer Lebenssituation und ihrer Selbstdarstellung. Dabei steht die Herausarbeitung des Fremden und der seelischen Verstörung im Mittelpunkt des Interesses. Mit der Veröffentlichung seiner Fotoserie „Dorps“ (1994) löste Ballen heftige Reaktion im In- und Ausland aus, die immer wieder auch nach dem Verhältnis von Dokumentation und Fiktion fragen.

Roger Ballens Aufnahmen vermitteln Aggressivität und Verletzlichkeit und sind zugleich Ausdruck einer Suche nach dem gewöhnlich Verborgenen, dem Unbewussten, das nicht selten alptraumhaft erscheint. So eröffnen sich Blicke auf „eine stille, introvertierte, verwundbare und verwundete Welt“ (Evelyn Weiss). Seine Bildwelten wirken häufig wie Wachträume. Besonders in seinen jüngeren Arbeiten begreift der Künstler jedes Foto als Teil eines abgründigen Selbst. Das Fotografieren wird zu einer Begegnung von realen Orten mit einer als surreal empfundenen Welt.

Die repräsentative Zusammenstellung von mehr als 200 zum Teil großformatigen Fotos durch das gesamte Werk wurde 2010 höchst erfolgreich im Münchner Stadtmuseum gezeigt.

 

Dank

Ausstellungssponsor

 

Logo e.on Westfalen Weser

 

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.