Heinrich Holtgreve: Eigenbedarf, 2009-2013 (Ausstellungsansicht)

OWL3
Useable Areas
16.06.—18.08.13

Katalog Nutzflächen OWL3

Publication

Exhibition trailer

For the third time the Marta Herford takes a look at the works of artists with biographical links with the region Ostwestfalen-Lippe (OWL). In the juxtaposition of different perspectives, the group exhibition develops an exciting dialogue.

 

Usually only used in the context of agriculture or buildings, the term “Nutzflächen”, or “useable areas” is given a new meaning in the mirror of art. The exhibition extends this term to the artistic sphere by putting it – beyond all functional purpose – in relation to the place of presentation, to the meaning of displays, right up to the projection surfaces in the minds of the artist and the observer.

Whether as idyllic Arcadias, mysterious primeval forest, as a public green area or as an empty space in an urban environment – the usable space is processed by art to become a symbol for the dichotomy between utopian world concepts and an unfulfilled longing for harmony between man and nature. Technical innovations such as navigation devices or Google Maps with their almost gapless visual models of our earth are hardly capable of providing an adequate view of the world. In our present-day confusion between “local” and “global”, artistic mappings can make the invisible visible and contribute towards achieving a personal definition of location.

In the run-up to this exhibition in 2012, the project „The borehole to New Zealand“ by the artist Ralf Witthaus took place with great media attention.

 

Artists

Heinrich Holtgreve, Frederik Kochbeck, Cem Kozcuer, Gabriele Münter, Axel Plöger, Jan Philip Scheibe, Heidi Specker, Tina Tonagel, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Ralf Witthaus

 

Thank you

Exhibition benefactor

In-kind sponsor

Logo Vorwerk

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners for their ongoing support of our program.

Heinrich Holtgreve: Eigenbedarf, 2009-2013 (Ausstellungsansicht)

OWL3
Nutzflächen
16.06.—18.08.13

Katalog Nutzflächen OWL3

Katalog

Ausstellungstrailer

Zum dritten Mal richtet Marta Herford den Blick auf die Arbeiten von Künstlern, die biografisch mit der Region Ostwestfalen-Lippe (OWL) verbunden sind. In der Gegenüberstellung unterschiedlicher Perspektiven entwickelt die Gruppenausstellung einen anregenden Dialog.

 

Der Begriff „Nutzflächen“, der sonst eher im Zusammenhang mit Landwirtschaft oder Gebäudeplanung Verwendung findet, erhält im Spiegel der Kunst eine neue Bedeutung. So überträgt die Ausstellung diesen Terminus auch auf die künstlerische Sphäre, indem sie ihn – jenseits aller Zweckorientierung – in Bezug setzt zu dem Ort der Präsentation, zu der Bedeutung von Displays bis hin zu den gedanklichen Projektionsflächen von Künstler und Betrachter.

Ob als idyllisches Arkadien, geheimnisvoller Urwald, als öffentliche Grünfläche oder auch als Leerstelle im Stadtraum – die Nutzfläche wird in der Kunst zum Sinnbild für den Zwiespalt zwischen utopischen Weltentwürfen und einer unerfüllten Sehnsucht nach der Harmonie zwischen Mensch und Natur. Technische Neuerungen wie Navigationsgeräte oder Google Maps mit ihren nahezu lückenlosen, visuellen Modellen unserer Erde eröffnen kaum einen angemessenen Blick auf die Welt. In dem heutigen verwirrenden Zustand zwischen „lokal“ und „global“ können künstlerische Kartierungen hingegen Unsichtbares sichtbar machen und zu einer persönlichen Standortbestimmung beitragen.

Im Vorfeld der Ausstellung fand bereits in 2012 das Projekt „Das Bohrloch nach Neuseeland“ des Künstlers Ralf Witthaus unter großer medialer Beachtung statt.

 

KünstlerInnen

Heinrich Holtgreve, Frederik Kochbeck, Cem Kozcuer, Gabriele Münter, Axel Plöger, Jan Philip Scheibe, Heidi Specker, Tina Tonagel, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Ralf Witthaus

 

Dank

Ausstellungsförderer

Materialsponsor

Logo Vorwerk

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern.