Blick in die Ausstellung "Guillaume Bruère - GIOM Tausendfüßler"

Guillaume Bruère
GIOM Millipede
26.08. – 04.11.2012

Katalog Guillaum Bruère GIOM

Catalogue (out of stock)

Exhibition trailer (German)

In his first major museum exhibition, French graphic artist, painter, sculptor and performance artist Guillaume Bruère will be providing an insight into his diverse activities.

 

The young French graphic artist Guillaume Bruère is a truly exceptional artist with a grandiose oeuvre. Marta Herford is organising a double exhibition of his work with the Municipal Gallery of Backnang. In his first major museum presentation, the French graphic artist, painter, sculptor and performance artist Guillaume Bruère provides some insights into his multi-facetted work.

Guillaume Bruère (born 1976 in Châtellerault/Poitou-Charentes, living and working in Berlin) is an exceptional artist in many different respects. When we look at his practically exploding work, we are fascinated, above all, by the diversity of styles, the variety of colours and the contradictory nature of the motifs. With a highly sensitive antenna, he allows images of the day and the night to merge into each other. He uses drawing, painting, sawing, gluing, sketching as well as performance to transfer these impressions into new, artistic existences.

Thus GIOM, as Bruère signs his works, slips again and again into the classical role of the copier, when he sits in the major European museums translating famous pictures into vibrating, energy-charged drawings. But then the motifs develop a highly irritating life of their own, become mirrors of looks and emotions, reflecting the living experience of a very personal encounter with the original.

Whether in these countless drawings, his reliefs or “saw-cuts”, again and again Bruère opens up a very personal, almost childish world of symbols which – somewhere between traditional coats of arms, puzzling portraits and trendy poster motifs – draws the viewer into its spell. What emerges is a mysterious world of lines and colours that launches the observer on a fascinating visual journey.

A Marta Herford project in cooperation with Galerie der Stadt Backnang (22. September – 18. November 2012).

 

Thank you

Exhibition supporter

 

Logo Institut Français Deutschland

 

Catalogue sponsor

 

 

Material sponsors

CARAN d’ACHE, Thônex-Genève (Schweiz)
RecyclingBörse! / Der Arbeitskreis Recycling e.V.

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Blick in die Ausstellung "Guillaume Bruère - GIOM Tausendfüßler"

Guillaume Bruère
GIOM Tausendfüßler
26.08. – 04.11.2012

Katalog Guillaum Bruère GIOM

Katalog (vergriffen)

Ausstellungstrailer

In einer ersten großen Museumspräsentation gibt der französische Zeichner, Maler, Bildhauer und Performance-Künstler Guillaume Bruère Einblick in sein vielgestaltiges Werk.

 

Guillaume Bruère (geboren 1976 in Châtellerault/Poitou-Charentes, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) ist gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht ein Ausnahmekünstler. Schaut man auf sein geradezu explodierendes Werk, so fasziniert vor allem die Vielfalt der stilistischen Mittel, die Unterschiedlichkeit der Farbwelten und die Gegensätzlichkeit der Motivik. Mit hoch sensiblen Antennen lässt er die Bilder des Tages und der Nacht durch sich hindurchfließen. Die Mittel des Zeichnens, Malens, Sägens, Klebens, Skizzierens oder aber auch der Performance dienen ihm zur Übertragung dieser Eindrücke in neue, künstlerische Existenzen.

So schlüpft GIOM, wie er seine Bilder signiert, immer wieder auch in die klassische Rolle des Kopisten, wenn er in den großen europäischen Museen bekannte Bilder der Kunstgeschichte in vibrierend energiegeladene Zeichnungen übersetzt. Hier allerdings entwickeln die Motive ein höchst irritierendes Eigenleben, werden zu Spiegeln von Blicken und Befindlichkeiten und reflektieren die lebendige Erfahrung einer sehr persönlichen Begegnung mit dem Original.

Ob in diesen zahllosen Zeichnungen, seinen Reliefs oder den sogenannten „Sägeschnitten“ – wiederholt eröffnet Bruère eine sehr eigenwillige, manchmal kindlich anmutende Symbolwelt. Sie zieht den Betrachter immer wieder neu irgendwo zwischen traditionellen Wappen, rätselhaften Porträts und poppigen Plakatmotiven in ihren Bann. Es entsteht eine geheimnisvolle Welt der Linien und Farben, die den Betrachter auf eine faszinierende visuelle Reise schickt.

Ein Projekt von Marta Herford in Zusammenarbeit mit der Galerie der Stadt Backnang (22. September bis 18. November 2012).

 

Dank

Ausstellungsunterstützer

 

Logo Institut Français Deutschland

 

Katalogsponsor

 

 

Materialsponsoren

CARAN d’ACHE, Thônex-Genève (Schweiz)
RecyclingBörse! / Der Arbeitskreis Recycling e.V.

 

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.