exhibition view "Franz Erhard Walther - The Memory of Form", 2012 (detail) © Franz Erhard Walther and VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

Franz Erhard Walther
The Memory of Form
08.10.2011 – 08.01.2012

Katalog Franz Erhard Walther

Catalogue

Exhibition trailer

Franz Erhard Walther, four-times documenta artist, leads the visitors into a unique sensual world of experience. With their whole bodies they perceive the room-filling, colour-intensive large-scale installation which transforms the floor and the walls in the Marta Dom into a fascinating field of tension of stitched forms and radiant colours.

 

Born in Fulda/Germany in 1939, around 1960 the artist developed a substantially new concept of the work. Since then he presents his mainly textile objects with equal status alongside their installation in the room, but just as they would be found in the warehouse: folded, stacked, laid out in compact blocks. This makes the work inviolably linked with the actions of the artist or the audience. They are the starting point for processes of sensual perception and physical experience. This takes place in the so-called work actions and work performances.

For the first time the whole bandwidth of his “Store of Sample Stitchings”, which has been constantly evolving since 1969, is to be shown in an exhibition project. Wall and floor pieces, soft and solid coloured bodies of fabric – folded, stored, stood up or hung – all combine to create a grandiose spatial form. The visitor finds himself before a precisely balanced, walk-in picture which is determined less by dramatic tension than by the profound, inner equilibrium of the colours and forms. At the same time, the pillars of a work developed uncompromisingly over more than 40 years are made clear.

 

Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Blick in die Ausstellung "Franz Erhard Walther - Die Erinnerung der Form", 2012 (Detail) © Franz Erhard Walther und VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

Franz Erhard Walther
Die Erinnerung der Form
08.10.2011 – 08.01.2012

Katalog Franz Erhard Walther

Katalog

Ausstellungstrailer

Franz Erhard Walther, vierfacher documenta-Künstler, führt die Besucher in eine einzigartige sinnliche Erfahrungswelt. Mit dem ganzen Körper begreift man die raumfüllende, farbintensive Großinstallation, die im Marta Dom Boden und Wände in ein raffiniertes Spannungsfeld aus genähten Formen und leuchtenden Farben verwandelt.

 

Der 1939 in Fulda geborene Künstler entwickelte um 1960 einen substantiell neuen Werkbegriff: Seine vornehmlich textilen Objekte präsentiert er seitdem gleichberechtigt neben ihrer Installation im Raum auch in einem Lagerzustand: gefaltet, gestapelt, zu kompakten Blöcken geschichtet. Damit ist das Werk unverbrüchlich an die Handlungen des Künstler oder des Publikums gebunden. Sie sind Ausgangspunkte für Prozesse der sinnlichen Wahrnehmung und Körpererfahrung. Dies geschieht in den sogenannten Werkhandlungen und Werkvorführungen.

Erstmals wird nun in einem Ausstellungsprojekt die ganze Bandbreite seines seit 1969 stetig anwachsenden „Lagers der Probenähungen“ präsentiert. Wand- und Bodenstücke, weiche und feste Farbkörper aus Stoff – gefaltet, gelagert, gestellt oder gehängt – fügen sich zu einer grandiosen Raumform. Der Besucher sieht sich einem präzise ausbalancierten, begehbaren Bild gegenüber, das weniger durch dramatische Spannung als durch eine tiefe innere Ausgewogenheit der Farben und Formen bestimmt ist. Zugleich scheinen hier die Säulen eines über mehr als 40 Jahre konsequent entwickelten Werkes auf.

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.