Yael Bartana: Inferno, 2013, Video Still (Detail), Courtesy of Petzel Gallery, New York; Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam; Simmer Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv © Die Künstlerin

• Yael Bartana: Inferno, 2013, Video Still (Detail), Courtesy of Petzel Gallery, New York; Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam; Simmer Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv © Die Künstlerin

Reality …
is more absurd than any film
02.03. – 10.06.2019

Publication

Exhibition trailer

More on the blog (German)

What does it mean to grow up in a society that does not firmly link “homeland” to a particular place, but experiences being on the move as a source of identity?

 

It is no coincidence that motifs of displacement and (e)migration frequently appear in the work of artists who have a biographical connection with Israel. Whether it is about religious cult sites, the threat to private property, the noise of war, or an absurd quest for meaning: grandi-ose video projections, accompanied by other groups of works, shine a visually stunning light on the fragility of social order. Although the motifs are closely linked with Israel’s history, they also characterize at the same time the condition of a Europe undergoing a profound process of change.

 

Please note:

The exhibition contribution by Omer Fast, a VR film in a special setting, can only be viewed by personal registration at the venue. The resulting waiting times can be easily bridged by a visit to the other exhibition rooms or a short break in Marta’s kupferbar.

 

Artists

Yael Bartana, Guy Ben-Ner, Keren Cytter, Omer Fast, Roee Rosen

 

Web app

In particular for use in the darker rooms of the exhibition, the guide to the individual exhibits can be called up as a web app on the smartphone or tablet. It is available both inside and outside the museum, is browser-based, and does not have to be separately downloaded.

 

Thank you

Material support

Marta Partner

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Yael Bartana: Inferno, 2013, Video Still (Detail), Courtesy of Petzel Gallery, New York; Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam; Simmer Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv © Die Künstlerin

• Yael Bartana: Inferno, 2013, Video Still (Detail), Courtesy of Petzel Gallery, New York; Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam; Simmer Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv © Die Künstlerin

Die Realität …
ist absurder als jeder Film
02.03. – 10.06.2019

Publikation

Ausstellungstrailer

mehr auf dem Blog

Was bedeutet es, in einer Gesellschaft aufzuwachsen, die „Heimat“ nicht fest mit einem Ort verbindet, sondern das Unterwegssein als identitätsstiftend erfährt?

 

Nicht zufällig tauchen Motive von Migration und (Aus-)Wanderung häufig im Werk von Künstler*innen auf, die einen biografischen Bezug zu Israel besitzen. Ob es um religiöse Kultorte geht, die Bedrohung des Privaten, um Kriegslärm oder eine absurde Sinnsuche: Grandiose Videoprojektionen, begleitet von weiteren Werkgruppen, werfen ein bildgewaltiges Licht auf die Brüchigkeit gesellschaftlicher Ordnungen. Die Motive sind zwar eng mit der israelischen Geschichte verbunden, sie charakterisieren aber zugleich auch den Zustand eines Europas im tiefgreifenden Wandel.

 

Bitte beachten Sie:

Der Ausstellungsbeitrag von Omer Fast, ein VR-Film in einem besonderen Setting, kann nur nach persönlicher Anmeldung vor Ort angeschaut werden. Die dadurch entstehenden Wartezeiten können bequem durch den Besuch der anderen Ausstellungsräume oder eine Pause in der kupferbar im Marta überbrückt werden.

 

Künstler*innen

Yael Bartana, Guy Ben-Ner, Keren Cytter, Omer Fast, Roee Rosen

 

Web-App

Vor allem zur Benutzung in den dunkleren Räumen der Ausstellung ist der Guide zu den einzelnen Beiträgen auch als Web-App mit dem Smartphone oder Tablet aufzurufen. Sie steht innerhalb wie außerhalb des Museums zur Verfügung, ist browserbasiert und muss nicht eigens heruntergeladen werden. Im Museum stehen außerdem Leihgeräte zur Verfügung.

 

Danke

Materialunterstützer

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.