Picture: Brigitte Waldach, Gewalt, 2013, Museum Marta Herford, Raumzeichnung mit 6-Kanal Sound, photo: Bernd Borchardt

Brigitte Waldach
Marta Award by the Wemhöner Foundation
20.09.2020 – 17.01.2021

A publication is being prepared

Publication

Soon more on the blog (German)

The Berlin artist, Brigitte Waldach, has been awarded the Marta Prize of the Wemhöner Stiftung 2020. In her large-format drawings and walk-in, spatial constructs, texts and sounds play an important role.

 

With lines and words she explores intellectual and literary connection. Her pictorial text bubbles, spatial drawings and sound installations repeatedly engage intensively with German history. The artist succeeds in creating powerful constellations and enlightening association fields which are both sensual and mental challenges at the same time.

On the occasion of the Marta Prize, a new work is created for the Marta collection which is presented to the public for the first time within the framework of a major prize-winner exhibition. The prize award ceremony will then take place at the exhibition opening.

The Wemhöner Foundation funds this biannual prize with Euro 25,000. The previous prize-winners are the duo Heike Mutter / Ulrich Genth (2014), Simon Wachsmuth (2016) and Peter Wächtler (2018).

 

Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Brigitte Waldach, Gewalt, 2013, Museum Marta Herford, Raumzeichnung mit 6-Kanal Sound, Foto: Bernd Borchardt

Brigitte Waldach
Marta-Preis der Wemhöner Stiftung
20.09.2020 – 17.01.2021

Eine Publikation ist in Vorbereitung

Publikation

bald mehr im Blog

Die Berliner Künstlerin Brigitte Waldach erhält den Marta-Preis der Wemhöner Stiftung 2020. In ihren großformatigen Zeichnungen und begehbaren räumlichen Verspannungen kommt auch Texten und Klängen eine bedeutsame Rolle zu.

 

Mit Linien und Worten ergründet sie geistesgeschichtliche und literarische Zusammenhänge. Ihre malerischen Textwolken, Raumzeichnungen und Klanginstallationen setzen sich immer wieder intensiv auch mit der deutschen Geschichte auseinander. Dabei gelingen der Künstlerin eindringliche Konstellationen und erhellende Assoziationsfelder, die ebenso sinnliche wie gedankliche Herausforderungen sind.

Anlässlich des Marta-Preises entsteht jeweils ein neues Werk für die Sammlung Marta, das im Rahmen einer größeren Preisträger-Ausstellung erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt wird. Zur Ausstellungseröffnung findet dann auch die feierliche Ehrung der Künstlerin statt.

Die Wemhöner Stiftung finanziert diesen alle zwei Jahre ausgelobten Preis mit 25.000 Euro. Die bisherigen Preisträger*innen sind das Duo Heike Mutter / Ulrich Genth (2014), Simon Wachsmuth (2016) und Peter Wächtler (2018).

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.