Sama Alshaibi: Sihr Halal (Permissible magic), 2014, © Sama Alshaibi, Courtesy Ayyam Gallery, Dubai

Suspended Territories
Artists from Middle East and North Africa
24.06. – 24.09.17

Publication

Soon more on the blog (German)

The exhibition collects pointed insights into the work of nine artists from the Arabian-Persian region, but who now live mainly in the West. Their artistic forms of expression are condensed with biographical links to a multilayered, highly interesting picture of questioning identity and belonging.

 

The desert as a place of spiritual retreat, a video archive of personal memories of the horrors of the Lebanon War, a female Superman in Tunisia demanding a state for Super-Tunisians. A lot of things are in upheaval in the Arabian countries and in Iran, and not only in recent times. Old geopolitical borders are shifting and creating a vacuum between the opposing forces. Confrontations of aesthetic images with political ideas are made visible.

 

Artists

Arwa Abouon (*1982 Libyen – Kanada), Mounira Al Solh (*1978 Libanon – Niederlande), Morehshin Allahyari (*1985 Iran – USA), Sama Alshaibi (*1973 Irak – USA), Moufida Fedhila (*1977 Tunesien – Frankreich), Saba Innab (*1980 Jordanien), Lamia Joreige (*1972 Libanon), Amina Menia (*1976 Algerien), Ala Younis (*1974 Jordanien)

 

Guided tours

Regularly Sat and Sun at noon and 3 pm
Special tour with the curators Tue 04.07., 01.08. and 05.09., at 4 pm
Last views with the Artistic Director Roland Nachtigäller Sun 24.09. at 3 pm
Ticket 2,50 Euro plus admission, booking not necessary, max. 25 participants

 

Thank you

Exhibition benefactor

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes
funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Sama Alshaibi: Sihr Halal (Permissible magic), 2014, © Sama Alshaibi, Courtesy Ayyam Gallery, Dubai

Zwischen Zonen
Künstlerinnen aus dem arabisch-persischen Raum
24.06. – 24.09.17

Publikation

Ausstellungstrailer

mehr im Blog

Die Ausstellung versammelt pointierte Einblicke in das Werk von neun Künstlerinnen, die aus dem arabisch-persischen Raum stammen, aber heute größtenteils im Westen leben. Ihre künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen verdichten sich dabei mit biografischen Zusammenhängen zu einer vielschichtigen, kritischen Befragung von Identität und Zugehörigkeit.

 

Die Wüste als Ort des spirituellen Rückzugs, ein Videoarchiv persönlicher Erinnerungen an die Schrecken des Libanonkrieges, ein weiblicher Superman, der in Tunesien einen Staat für Super-Tunesier fordert: In den arabischen Ländern und dem Iran ist nicht erst in jüngster Zeit vieles im Umbruch. Alte geopolitische Grenzen verschieben sich und erzeugen ein Vakuum zwischen den kämpfenden Mächten. Sichtbar werden Konfrontationen von ästhetischen Bildern mit politischen Ideen.

 

Künstlerinnen

Arwa Abouon (*1982 Libyen – Kanada), Mounira Al Solh (*1978 Libanon – Niederlande), Morehshin Allahyari (*1985 Iran – USA), Sama Alshaibi (*1973 Irak – USA), Moufida Fedhila (*1977 Tunesien – Frankreich), Saba Innab (*1980 Jordanien), Lamia Joreige (*1972 Libanon), Amina Menia (*1976 Algerien), Ala Younis (*1974 Jordanien)

 

Führungen

Regelmäßig Sa und So, jeweils um 12 und 15 Uhr
Sonderführungen mit den Ausstellungsmachern Di 04.07., 01.08. und 05.09., jeweils um 16 Uhr
Letzte Blicke mit dem Künstlerischen Direktor Roland Nachtigäller: So 24.09., um 15 Uhr
Tickets 2,50 Euro zzgl. Eintritt, ohne Anmeldung, max. 25 TeilnehmerInnen

 

Dank

Ausstellungsförderer

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes

 

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.