Chiharu Shiota: Uncertain Journey, 2016, Blain|Southern, Berlin. Courtesy the artist and Blain|Southern. Photo: Christian Gläser © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2017

Welcome to the Labyrinth
Artistic Deception
23.06. – 23.09.2018

Publication

Soon more on the blog (German)

The hidden and mysterious disconcert and fascinate us at the same time. Although it is not always easy to stand irritations and visual deceptions, it can actually be a pleasure and a revelation to lose ourselves in unexpected structures. With six large-format room installations, which profoundly alter some parts of the museum building, this exhibition opens up a sensual experience of a very special kind.

 

From an ornament to the Baroque garden, right up to the hall of mirrors: as deliberate spatial deceptions, labyrinths often serve as entertainment. Although they are misleading, they are based on a hidden order which only becomes clear from the birds-eye view.

In our globalized world, the loss of the overview appears to be an omnipresent, existential issue. Contemporary artists are thus engaging with the labyrinthine, whether as a symbol for a path of life, as a reflection of urban planning structures, or as a metaphor for the highly dynamic data traffic. For the exhibition they transform the interior of the museum into an inspiring tour de force which is critical and humorous, and presents the labyrinthine as a meditative figure of thought and at the same time as a physical experience challenging the senses.

 

Artists

Anne Hardy, Peter Kogler, Christian Odzuck, Royden Rabinowitch, Chiharu Shiota, Song Dong

 

Thank you

Exhibition benefactor

Patron of the arts

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Chiharu Shiota: Uncertain Journey, 2016, Photo: Christian Gläser © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2017 / the Artist

Willkommen im Labyrinth
Künstlerische Irreführungen
23.06. – 23.09.2018

Publikation

bald mehr im Blog

Das Verborgene und Rätselhafte befremdet und fasziniert zugleich. Obwohl es oft nicht leicht scheint, Irritationen und visuelle Irreführungen auszuhalten, kann es durchaus Genuss und Offenbarung sein, sich in unerwarteten Strukturen zu verlieren. Mit sieben großformatigen Rauminstallationen, die das Museumsgebäude zum Teil tiefgreifend verändern, eröffnet diese Ausstellung ein sinnliches Erlebnis ganz eigener Prägung.

 

Vom Ornament über den Barockgarten bis zum Spiegelkabinett – als bewusste räumliche Irreführungen dienen Labyrinthe oftmals der Unterhaltung. Obwohl sie die Orientierung nehmen, beruhen sie auf einer geheimen Ordnung, die sich vielfach erst aus der Vogelperspektive offenbart.

Der Verlust von Übersichtlichkeit scheint in einer globalisierten Welt ein allgegenwärtiges, existentielles Thema. Das Labyrinthische beschäftigt daher verstärkt auch zeitgenössische KünstlerInnen – ganz gleich ob als Symbol für einen Lebensweg, als Abbild städtebaulicher Strukturen oder als Metapher für den hoch dynamischen Datenverkehr. Für die Ausstellung verwandeln sie kritisch und lustvoll das Innere des Museums in einen inspirierenden Parcours, der das Labyrinthische als meditative Denkfigur präsentiert und sich zugleich als die Sinne herausfordernde Körpererfahrung darstellt.

 

 

KünstlerInnen

Anne Hardy, Peter Kogler, Christian Odzuck, Royden Rabinowitch, Chiharu Shiota, Song Dong, u.a.

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.