Dionisio González: Nova Heliopolis III, 2007 (Detail)

(im)possible!
Artists and Architects
21.02. – 31.05.2015

Publication

Exhibition trailer (German)

For the first time, realised buildings and spaces, models and designs for possible buildings and utopian ideas and experiments, all of which are designed by creative artists, are presented in a comprehensive overview exhibition.

Marta Herford is a living example of how architects sometimes think of their buildings as sculptures. But what happens when this perspective is reversed, when artists engage with architecture? In the Marta anniversary year we will be taking a completely new look at these interconnections: can artists as archi-tects be more innovative, radical, provocative when they do not have to worry about building regulations, economic feasibility and investor wishes?

Dreams of (im)possible rooms, drawings of utopian city designs, walk-in space constructions and fictive museums are just some of the fascinating results of such a role reversal. The exhibition presents the whole diversity of artistic border-crossings, and gives several examples taking a look back over the 20th century and thus the beginnings of this intensive exchange of spatial ideas and questions.

The exhibition was realized in collaboration with and according to an idea of Dr. Anne Schloen.

 

Artists

Absalon, Vito Acconci, Atelier van Lieshout, Caroline Bayer, Thomas Bayrle, Dai Goang Chen, Anja Ciupka, Constant, Stephen Craig, Jan De Cock, Theo van Doesburg, Herman Finsterlin, Isa Genzken, Dionisio González, Dan Graham, Beate Gütschow, Wenzel Hablik, Erwin Heerich, Walter Jonas, Anish Kapoor, Tamás Kaszás, Tadashi Kawamata, Bodys Isek Kingelez, Isa Melsheimer, Heike Mutter / Ulrich Genth, El Lissitzky, Michael Pohl, Pedro Cabrita Reis, Claus Richter, Christine Rusche, Gregor Schneider, Thomas Schütte, Charles Simonds, Monika Sosnowska, Georges Vantongerloo, Johannes Wohnseifer.

 

Thank you

Exhibition sponsor

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners and Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Dionisio González: Nova Heliopolis III, 2007 (Detail)

(un)möglich!
Künstler als Architekten
21.02. – 31.05.2015

Publikation

Ausstellungstrailer

Erstmalig werden in einer umfassenden Überblicksausstellung realisierte Gebäude und Räume, Modelle und Entwürfe möglicher Bauten sowie utopische Ideen und Experimente vorgestellt, die ausschließlich von bildenden Künstlern stammen.

 

Das Marta Herford ist ein lebendiges Beispiel dafür, wie Architekten ihre Bauten bisweilen als Skulpturen denken. Was aber geschieht, wenn sich diese Perspektive umkehrt, wenn sich also Künstler mit Architektur beschäftigen? Im Marta Jubiläumsjahr erschließt sich eine völlig neuer Blick auf diese Zusammenhänge: Können Künstler als Architekten innovativer, radikaler, provokanter sein, wenn sie sich nicht um Bauvorschriften, Realisierbarkeit und Investorenwünsche kümmern müssen?

Träume von (un)möglichen Räumen, Zeichnungen utopischer Stadtentwürfe, begehbare Raumkonstruktionen und fiktive Museen sind faszinierende Ergebnisse einer solchen Umkehrung. Dabei präsentiert die Ausstellung die gesamte Vielfalt der künstlerischen Grenzüberschreitungen und wirft mit exemplarischen Beispielen auch einen Blick zurück ins 20. Jahrhundert und damit auf die Anfänge dieses intensiven Austausches räumlicher Ideen und Fragestellungen.

Die Ausstellung entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit und nach einer Idee von Dr. Anne Schloen.

 

KünstlerInnen

Absalon, Vito Acconci, Atelier van Lieshout, Caroline Bayer, Thomas Bayrle, Dai Goang Chen, Anja Ciupka, Constant, Stephen Craig, Jan De Cock, Theo van Doesburg, Herman Finsterlin, Isa Genzken, Dionisio González, Dan Graham, Beate Gütschow, Wenzel Hablik, Erwin Heerich, Walter Jonas, Anish Kapoor, Tamás Kaszás, Tadashi Kawamata, Bodys Isek Kingelez, Isa Melsheimer, Heike Mutter / Ulrich Genth, El Lissitzky, Michael Pohl, Pedro Cabrita Reis, Claus Richter, Christine Rusche, Gregor Schneider, Thomas Schütte, Charles Simonds, Monika Sosnowska, Georges Vantongerloo, Johannes Wohnseifer

 

Dank

Ausstellungssponsor

logo_eon_neu

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.