Gert & Uwe Tobias, Chinoiserie I (Detail), 2012, 200 x 300 cm, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

The Art in Music
25 years of the ACT label
29.09. – 05.11.2017, Marta-Forum

Soon more on the blog (German)

The connection between music and art always plays a key role for the internationally acclaimed jazz label ACT. For 25 years now the works of numerous contemporary artists have adorned the album covers whose eye-catching design became a trademark for the label.

With the foundation of his own jazz label in 1992, the record boss Siggi Loch was fulfilling a dream of his youth. In the meantime ACT has developed to become one of the world’s leading provider from Europe. Nils Landgren, Esbjörn Svensson, Lars Danielsson, Youn Sun Nah, Nguyên Lê and Andreas Schaerer are just some of the musicians represented there. For Siggi Loch, modern art and contemporary jazz music are inseparably linked, and this is why he initiated the enhancement of numerous record covers by well-known artists including Neo Rauch, Georg Baselitz or Erwin Wurm. At the centre of the presentation in the Marta Forum stand the works of the Bonn-based painter, illustrator and graphic designer Martin Noël (1956–2010) as well as the Romanian twins Gert & Uwe Tobias (*1973) who now live in Germany.

 

Opening Event

Friday, 29.09., at 6 pm in the Marta Forum

Following some introductory words by Marta Director Roland Nachtigäller on the exhibition, and by Ralf Hammacher on the concert festival of the Musik-Kontor, Siggi Loch talks about his turbulent life between music and art. Admission to the event is free of charge. At around 7.45 pm the Marta Forum will be closed briefly to be prepared for the concert later.

 

Concert program for the ACT25 Festival

29.09. at 8 pm concert with Nguyên Lê (guitars and programming) and Ngo Hong Quang (song, traditional Vietnamese instruments), Tickets: 25 € plus advance booking fee via Musik-Kontor-Herford e.V.
30.09. at 6.30 pm presentation by Siggi Loch: “25 Years in the Spirit of Jazz” (admission free)
30.09. at 8 pm
concert with Leszek Możdżer (piano) and Lars Danielsson (double base, cello cello), Tickets: 25 € plus advance booking fee via Musik-Kontor-Herford e.V.
01.10. at 8 pm
concert with Nils Landgren (trombone and vocals), Michael Wollny (piano), Lars Danielsson (double base), sold out

 

Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Gert & Uwe Tobias, Chinoiserie I (Detail), 2012, 200 x 300 cm, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

The Art in Music
25 Jahre ACT-Label
29.09. – 05.11.2017, Marta-Forum

mehr im Blog

Die Verbindung zwischen Musik und Kunst spielt beim international hochgeschätzten Jazz-Label ACT stets eine Schlüsselrolle. Seit nunmehr 25 Jahren veredeln die Werke zahlreicher zeitgenössischer Künstler die Albumcover, deren prägnante Gestaltung zum Markenzeichen wurde.

 

Mit der Gründung eines eigenen Jazzlabels im Jahre 1992 erfüllte sich Schallplattenchef Siggi Loch einen Jugendtraum. Mittlerweile hat sich ACT zu einem der weltweit führenden Anbieter aus Europa entwickelt. Nils Landgren, Esbjörn Svensson, Lars Danielsson, Youn Sun Nah, Nguyên Lê und Andreas Schaerer sind nur einige der dort vertretenen Musiker. Für Siggi Loch sind moderne Kunst und zeitgenössische Jazzmusik untrennbar miteinander verbunden und so initiierte er die Veredelung zahlreicher Plattencover durch namhafte Künstler, darunter Neo Rauch, Georg Baselitz oder Erwin Wurm. Im Mittelpunkt der Präsentation im Marta-Forum stehen die Werke des Bonner Malers, Zeichner und Grafikers Martin Noël (1956–2010) sowie der aus Rumänien stammenden, heute in Deutschland lebenden Zwillingsbrüder Gert & Uwe Tobias (*1973).

 

Eröffnungsveranstaltung

Freitag, 29.09., um 18 Uhr im Marta-Forum

Nach einführenden Worten von Marta-Direktor Roland Nachtigäller zur Ausstellung und Ralf Hammacher zum Konzertfestival des Musik-Kontors erzählt Siggi Loch aus seinem bewegten Leben zwischen Musik und Kunst. Die Veranstaltung ist kostenlos. Gegen 19:45 Uhr wird dann das Marta-Forum kurz geschlossen, um für das anschließende Konzert vorbereitet zu werden.

 

Konzertprogramm zum ACT25-Festival

29.09. um 20.00 Uhr Konzert mit Nguyên Lê (Gitarren & programming) und Ngo Hong Quang (Gesang, traditionelle vietnamesische Instrumente), Tickets: 25 € zzgl. VVK-Gebühren über Musik-Kontor-Herford e.V.
30.09. um 18.30 Uhr Vortrag von Siggi Loch: „25 Years in the Spirit of Jazz“ (Eintritt frei)
30.09. um 20.00 Uhr Konzert mit Leszek Możdżer (Piano) und Lars Danielsson (Kontrabass & Cello), Tickets: 25 € zzgl. VVK-Gebühren über Musik-Kontor-Herford e.V.
01.10. um 20.00 Uhr Konzert mit Nils Landgren (Posaune & Gesang), Michael Wollny (Piano), Lars Danielsson (Kontrabass), ausverkauft

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.