Lotte Beese: Portrait Mart Stam (Ausschnitt), um 1929/30, Bauhausarchiv Berlin, ©Ariane und Maurizio Stam

A Radical Modernist
The Enigma of Mart Stam
05.11.17 – 07.01.18

Publication

Soon more on the blog (German)

The exhibition stages the highly creative, restless and enigmatic life of Mart Stam, the “Mystery Man” of Modernism in the form of seven themes like an adventurous tour de force through the architecture, design and ideas of the 20th century.

 

At the age of just 23 years, Mart Stam begins working in various offices in Amsterdam, Berlin, Frankfurt, Moscow, Thun and Zürich, often on groundbreaking projects. In 1926 he creates the legendary cantilever chair, designs apartments for the Weissenhof Settlement in Stuttgart, and works as a municipal planner in the Soviet Union between 1930 and 1934. This is followed, among other things, by collaboration with Willem Sandberg at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, and in the early 1950s in the position as director at the Academy of Arts in Dresden and the College of Applied Arts in Berlin-Weißensee.

With his gradual retreat from the limelight into a life of religious and spiritual seclusion at various addresses in Switzerland, the Dutchman played an active role in building the legend and the associated mystery around his person.

 

Guided tours

Regularly Sat and Sun, 28./29.10. and 04./05.11., at noon and 3 pm
Special tour with the curators Tue 02.01. at 4 pm
Last views with the Artistic Director Roland Nachtigäller Sun 07.01. at 3 pm
Ticket 2,50 Euro plus admission, booking not necessary, max. 25 participants

 

Thank you

Exhibition benefactor

In-kind sponsor

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Lotte Beese: Portrait Mart Stam (Ausschnitt), um 1929/30, Bauhausarchiv Berlin, ©Ariane und Maurizio Stam

Radikaler Modernist
Das Mysterium Mart Stam
05.11.17 – 07.01.18

Publikation

bald mehr auf unserem Blog

Die Ausstellung inszeniert das hochkreative, rastlose und geheimnisumwitterte Leben von Mart Stam, dem „Mystery man“ der Moderne, in sieben Kapiteln wie einen abenteuerlichen Parforce-Ritt durch die Architektur-, Design- und Ideengeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

 

Mit gerade einmal 23 Jahren beginnt Mart Stam in unterschiedlichen Büros in Amsterdam, Berlin, Frankfurt, Moskau, Thun und Zürich an oft wegweisenden Projekten zu arbeiten. 1926 konzipiert er den legendären Freischwingerstuhl, entwirft Wohnungen für die Weißenhofsiedlung in Stuttgart und ist zwischen 1930 und 1934 als Stadtplaner in der Sowjetunion tätig. Darauf folgen unter anderem eine Zusammenarbeit mit Willem Sandberg am Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam und in den frühen fünfziger Jahren der Posten als Direktor an der Kunstakademie in Dresden und der Hochschule für angewandte Kunst in Berlin-Weißensee.

Mit seinem sukzessiven Rückzug aus dem Rampenlicht bis hin zu einem Leben in religiöser und spiritueller Abgeschiedenheit mit wechselnden Schweizer Wohnorten hatte der Holländer aktiv großen Anteil an der Legendenbildung und dem damit verbundenen Mysterium seiner Person.

 

Führungen

Regelmäßig Sa und So, 28./29.10. und 04./05.11., jeweils um 12 und 15 Uhr
Sonderführungen mit den Ausstellungsmachern Di 02.01. um 16 Uhr
Letzte Blicke mit dem Künstlerischen Direktor Roland Nachtigäller: So 07.01. um 15 Uhr
Tickets 2,50 Euro zzgl. Eintritt, ohne Anmeldung, max. 25 TeilnehmerInnen

 

Dank

Ausstellungsförderer

Materialsponsoren

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.