Li Wei: Beyond Gravity #2, 2010 in the Marta exhibtion Magic and Power

Li Wei: Beyond Gravity #2, 2010

Magic and Power
Of Magic Carpets and Drones
27.02. – 05.06.2016

Abbildung der vier Marta-Publikationen zur Marta-Ausstellung Magie und Macht Von fliegenden Teppichen und Drohnen

Publication

Exhibition trailer

More on the blog (German)

The exhibition examines this parallelity of magic carpet and unmanned air vehicle using contemporary artistic means: objects, drawings, photographs, videos and installations circle between fascination and horror around a historical issue of great topicality.

 

The magic carpet is a legendary carpet that can be used to transport humans instantaneously or quickly to any destination. In Persian mythology King Salomon had just such a magic craft. It became world famous through the stories from “One Thousand and One Nights” and still features not only in fairy tales but also in many fantasy books and films. It combines the primeval human dream of flying with the almighty view from above and the silent agility of the spy.

In a strange way, our modern-day drones continue to weave this spell. As remote-controlled flight robots they open up almost unlimited possibilities – for goods transport and the observation of hostile terrain, for new camera flights at dizzying heights or for unmanned military attacks. There is a clash here not only of picture worlds from East and West, but also of the magic of the fairy tales with the cynicism of an enlightened present, of fanciful dreams of conquering the heavens with crystal-clear photographs of the most hidden corners of the planet.

The show is a highly extended version of the presentation “Heaven and Hell” conceived last year by Diane Hennebert and Christophe Dosogne for the Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain in Brussels.

 

Logo Boghossian Foundation

 

Artists

Adel Abdessemed, Jananne Al-Ani, Nevin Aladağ, Bilal Bahir, Axel Brechensbauer, Cai Guo-Qiang, Solano Cardenas, Tim Cierpiszewski, Eleven Play, Parastou Forouhar, Alicia Framis, Gregoire Gicquel, Oliver Grajewski, Laurent Grasso, Adam Harvey, IOCOSE, Pravdoliub Ivanov, Alain Josseau, Nadia Kaabi-Linke, Babak Kazemi, Krištof Kintera, Julien Leresteux, Li Wei, Urs Lüthi, Pierre Malpettes, Abu Bakarr Mansary, Farhad Moshiri, Nik Nowak, Panamarenko, Ruben Pater, Sebastian Reuzé, Patrick Rieve, Samuel Rousseau, Moussa Sarr, Björn Schülke, Jalal Sepehr, Roman Signer, Slavs and Tatars, Andreas Slominski, Rikrit Tiravanija, Addie Wagenknecht

 

Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Li Wei: Beyond Gravity 2, 2010 (Detail)

Li Wei: Beyond Gravity #2, 2010

Magie und Macht
Von fliegenden Teppichen und Drohnen
27.02. – 05.06.2016

Abbildung der vier Marta-Publikationen zur Marta-Ausstellung Magie und Macht Von fliegenden Teppichen und Drohnen

Publikation

Ausstellungstrailer

mehr im Blog

Die Ausstellung geht der Parallelität von magischem Teppich und technischem Fluggerät mit zeitgenössischen künstlerischen Mitteln nach: Objekte, Zeichnungen, Fotos, Videos und Installationen kreisen zwischen Faszination und Schrecken um ein historisches Thema von großer Aktualität.

 

Der fliegende Teppich gilt als Symbol der Reise um die Welt. In der persischen Mythologie besaß König Salomon solch ein magisches Knüpfwerk. Durch die Erzählungen aus „Tausendundeiner Nacht“ wurde er weltberühmt und taucht heute nicht nur in Märchen, sondern auch in zahlreichen Fantasy-Büchern und -Filmen immer wieder auf. Er vereint den uralten Menschheitstraum des Fliegens mit dem allmächtigen Blick von oben und der lautlosen Wendigkeit des Spions.

Auf unheimliche Weise spinnen Drohnen diesen Traum heute weiter fort. Als ferngesteuerte Flugroboter eröffnen sie nahezu unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten – für den Warentransport ebenso wie für die Beobachtung feindlichen Terrains, für neue Kamerafahrten in schwindelnde Höhen ebenso wie für unbemannte Kriegsangriffe. Hier treffen sich nicht nur Bildwelten von Orient und Okzident, sondern auch der Zauber aus den Märchen und die Härte einer aufklärerischen Gegenwart, versponnene Träume von der Himmelseroberung und glasklare Aufnahmen aus den verstecktesten Winkeln des Planeten.

Die Ausstellung ist eine stark erweiterte Übernahme der im vergangenen Jahr von Diane Hennebert und Christophe Dosogne für die Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain in Brüssel konzipierten Präsentation „Heaven and Hell“.

 

Logo Boghossian Foundation

 

Beteiligte KünstlerInnen

Adel Abdessemed, Jananne Al-Ani, Nevin Aladağ, Bilal Bahir, Axel Brechensbauer, Cai Guo-Qiang, Solano Cardenas, Tim Cierpiszewski, Eleven Play, Parastou Forouhar, Alicia Framis, Gregoire Gicquel, Oliver Grajewski, Laurent Grasso, Adam Harvey, IOCOSE, Pravdoliub Ivanov, Alain Josseau, Nadia Kaabi-Linke, Babak Kazemi, Krištof Kintera, Julien Leresteux, Li Wei, Urs Lüthi, Pierre Malpettes, Abu Bakarr Mansary, Farhad Moshiri, Nik Nowak, Panamarenko, Ruben Pater, Sebastian Reuzé, Patrick Rieve, Samuel Rousseau, Moussa Sarr, Björn Schülke, Jalal Sepehr, Roman Signer, Slavs and Tatars, Andreas Slominski, Rikrit Tiravanija, Addie Wagenknecht

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.