Photo: Julia Autz

Cosmos
Explorations in the Republic of Moldova and Transnistria

03.05. – 24.05.2017

More on the blog (German)

Chișinău or Kishinev, a place most people in Western Europe know little about, was the excursion destination in 2016 of a group of photography students from the Faculty of Design at the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences. Along with their lecturers, Andrea Diefenbach and Prof. Roman Bezjak, they spent two weeks exploring Moldova’s capital city and the surrounding region.

 

The exhibition “Cosmos – Explorations in the Republic of Moldova und Transnistria” is the result of the collaboration with local photographers and students at the academy of arts there. Up to the 24th of May the Marta Forum will present around 80 photographs from 16 students and the lecturers, showing the very different ways of exploring foreign places.

The selected photographs span a broad horizon from impressive portraits to expansive landscapes. The photographic view of the architecture also reflects the living conditions there. The Republic of Moldova, a landlocked state on the south-eastern periphery of Europe, enclosed by Romania and Ukraine, is largely a blind spot in the collective consciousness of Western Europe. Some of the students were drawn further afield to the region of Transnistria, which has been demanding independence from the Republic of Moldova since the collapse of the Soviet Union. The exhibition provides multi-layered insights into what life is like at the other end of Europe and attempts to shine a light on the blind spot.

 

Photographer

Lukas van Bentum, Julia Autz, Julia Gaes, Emilia Hesse, Annie Sprengelmeyer, Jasmin Teutrine, Janosch Boerckel, Tim Dechent, Bettina Ebert, Sally Plöger, Max Thesseling, Merle Burgey, Mats Karlsson, Roman Bezjak, Johannes Eslage, Neele Schedler, Vedad Divovic, Andrea Diefenbach

 

In collaboration with University of Applied Science Bielefeld.

 

Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Fotografie: Julia Autz

Kosmos
Erkundungen in der Republik Moldau und Transnistrien

03.05. – 24.05.2017

 mehr im Blog

Chișinău oder Kischinau, ein Ort von dem man nahezu nichts weiß, war 2016 das Exkursionsziel von Fotografie-Studierenden des Fachbereichs Gestaltung der FH Bielefeld. Zusammen mit den Dozenten Andrea Diefenbach und Prof. Roman Bezjak erkundeten sie für zwei Wochen die Hauptstadt und das Umland.

 

Die Ausstellung „Kosmos – Erkundungen in der Republik Moldau und Transnistrien“ ist das Resultat der Zusammenarbeit mit ortsansässigen Fotografen und Studierenden der dortigen Kunstakademie. Im Marta-Forum werden rund 80 Fotografien von 16 Studierenden und den Dozenten bis zum 24. Mai zu sehen sein, die ganz unterschiedliche Vorgehensweisen der Erkundung der Fremde zeigen.

Die ausgewählten Fotografien umspannen einen weiten Horizont von eindrücklichen Portraits bis zu weitläufigen Landschaftsaufnahmen. Auch der fotografische Blick auf die Architektur spiegelt die dortigen Lebensbedingungen wieder. Die Republik Moldau, die in der südöstlichen Peripherie Europas als Binnenstaat eingeschlossen von Rumänien und der Ukraine liegt, ist im kollektiven Bewusstsein Westeuropas weitestgehend ein blinder Fleck. Aus keinem Land Europas wandern so vielen Menschen ab, um sich anderswo eine Zukunft aufzubauen. Stillstand, Monotonie und Perspektivlosigkeit sind allgegenwärtig. Einige Studierende zog es bei ihren Streifzügen weiter hinaus in das Gebiet Transnistrien, das seit dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion seine Unabhängigkeit von der Republik Moldau fordert. Die Ausstellung vermittelt einen vielschichten Einblick, wie das Leben am anderen Ende Europas aussieht, und versucht den blinden Fleck auszuleuchten.

 

FotografInnen

Lukas van Bentum, Julia Autz, Julia Gaes, Emilia Hesse, Annie Sprengelmeyer, Jasmin Teutrine, Janosch Boerckel, Tim Dechent, Bettina Ebert, Sally Plöger, Max Thesseling, Merle Burgey, Mats Karlsson, Roman Bezjak, Johannes Eslage, Neele Schedler, Vedad Divovic, Andrea Diefenbach

 

Die Ausstellung ist in Zusammenarbeit mit der Fachhochschule Bielefeld entstanden.

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.