Isaac Julien: Yishan Island, Mist (Ten Thousand Waves), 2010 (Detail)

Abbildung von Isaac Julien, Yishan Island, Mist (Ten Thousand Waves), 2010 aus der Marta-Ausstellung Harmonie und Umbruch

Harmony and Transition
Reflecting Chinese Landscapes
20.06 – 04.10.2016

Abbildungen der Marta-Publikationen zu der Marta-Ausstellung Harmonie und Umbruch

Publication

Exhibition trailer

More on the blog (German)

In recent times the shan-shui tradition of mountain-water painting is becoming increasingly important. Contemporary artists are updating the genre and transferring it to the media of photography, sculpture, installation, video and performance.

Landscape painting in China looks back on a tradition of over 1500 years. It does not concentrate on reproducing a true image of a visible outer world, but reflects the inner experience of the painter. The opposite poles of mountain and water, the solid and the liquid, are subjected to a dynamic exchange as a symbol of the balance in the world.

The invited artists reflect the tradition dedicated to harmony, and develop alien and yet pictorially powerful worlds of experience which extend beyond national borders and make nature the medium for individual systems of order and ideals, but also for change and upheaval.

A project in collaboration with Philipp Bollman.

 

Artists

Marina Abramović & Ulay, Darren Almond, Hans Op de Beeck, Katinka Bock, Cai Guo-Qiang, Chi Peng, Hamish Fulton, Hai Bo, Han Lei, Huang Yan, Markus Huemer, Ji Dachun, Isaac Julien, Nadav Kander, Kitty Kraus, Roy Lichtenstein, Maleonn, Kris Martin, Isa Melsheimer, Maki Na Kamura, Ni Youyu, Qiu Shihua, Yehudit Sasportas, Nadja Schöllhammer, Richard Serra, Julia Steiner, Thomas Struth, William Tucker, Anna Vogel, Sonja Vordermaier, Wang Tiande, WassinkLundgren, Xue Song, Yan Shanchun, Yang Jiechang, Yue Minjun, Yun-Fei Ji, Zuoxiao Zuzhou

 

Thank you

Exhibition sponsor

Wemhöner

Material sponsor

Vorwerk Recyclingbörse

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Isaac Julien: Yishan Island, Mist (Ten Thousand Waves), 2010 (Detail)

Abbildung von Isaac Julien, Yishan Island, Mist (Ten Thousand Waves), 2010 aus der Marta-Ausstellung Harmonie und Umbruch

Harmonie und Umbruch
Spiegelungen chinesischer Landschaften
20.06. – 04.10.2015

Abbildungen der Marta-Publikationen zu der Marta-Ausstellung Harmonie und Umbruch

Publikation

Ausstellungstrailer

Mehr im Blog

Gerade in der jüngeren Zeit gewinnt die Shan-shui-Tradition, die chinesische Berg-Wasser-Malerei, wieder an Bedeutung. Zeitgenössische KünstlerInnen aktualisieren das Genre und übertragen es auf die Medien Fotografie, Skulptur, Installation, Video und Performance.

 

Die Landschaftsmalerei in China blickt auf eine 1500-jährige Geschichte zurück. Sie konzentriert sich nicht auf ein getreues Abbild einer sichtbaren Außenwelt, sondern spiegelt das innere Erleben des Malers. Die gegensätzlichen Pole Berg und Wasser, das Massive und das Flüssige, werden stellvertretend für das Gleichgewicht in der Welt in einen dynamischen Austausch gebracht.

Die eingeladenen Künstler reflektieren die der Harmonie verschriebene Tradition und entwickeln ebenso fremdartige wie bildgewaltige Erfahrungswelten, die über nationale Grenzen hinweg Natur zum Träger von individuellen Ordnungssystemen und Idealen, aber auch von Um- und Aufbrüchen machen.

Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Philipp Bollmann.

 

KünstlerInnen

Marina Abramović & Ulay, Darren Almond, Hans Op de Beeck, Katinka Bock, Cai Guo-Qiang, Chi Peng, Hamish Fulton, Hai Bo, Han Lei, Huang Yan, Markus Huemer, Ji Dachun, Isaac Julien, Nadav Kander, Kitty Kraus, Roy Lichtenstein, Maleonn, Kris Martin, Isa Melsheimer, Maki Na Kamura, Ni Youyu, Qiu Shihua, Yehudit Sasportas, Nadja Schöllhammer, Richard Serra, Julia Steiner, Thomas Struth, William Tucker, Anna Vogel, Sonja Vordermaier, Wang Tiande, WassinkLundgren, Xue Song, Yan Shanchun, Yang Jiechang, Yue Minjun, Yun-Fei Ji, Zuoxiao Zuzhou

 

Dank

Ausstellungssponsor

Wemhöner

Materialsponsor

Vorwerk Recyclingbörse

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.