Ernst Caramelle: untitled, Art Unlimited, 2011 / Art Basel 42

Ernst Caramelle
Very angenehme Konzeptkunst
13.05. – 26.08.2018


Soon more on the blog (German)

Reality or illusion? The enigmatic murals by the painter Ernst Caramelle simulate three-dimensionality and spatial depth, thus blurring the boundaries between reality and illusion. Where does the artist’s painting end, and where does the exhibition room begin?


The painter Ernst Caramelle, born in 1952 in Tyrol, has been playing with the limits of the visible for more than 40 years now. The individual exhibition in the Marta Herford uses various media to show the oeuvre of this important representative of concept art. With the aid of duplications, symmetries and mirror images, Caramelle’s initially impenetrable murals playfully lead the viewer astray.

His focus lies on the small, inconspicuous changes in the world that are only discovered when we look more closely. His artistic interventions in the existing architecture appear to set these in motion and confront us with a spatial illusion. An exhibition fully in line with Caramelle’s motto: “Everything is in reality not real!”



Thank you

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Ernst Caramelle: Ohne Titel, Art Unlimited, 2011 / Art Basel 42

Ernst Caramelle
Very angenehme Konzeptkunst
13.05. – 26.08.2018

Publikation

bald mehr im Blog

Realität oder Illusion? Die rätselhaften Wandgemälde von Ernst Caramelle täuschen Dreidimensionalität und räumliche Tiefe vor, sodass die Grenze zwischen Wirklichkeit und Schein verschwimmt. Wo endet die Malerei des Künstlers und wo beginnt der Ausstellungsraum?

 

Seit über 40 Jahren spielt der 1952 in Tirol geborene Maler Ernst Caramelle mit den Grenzen des Sichtbaren. Die Einzelausstellung im Marta Herford zeigt in unterschiedliche Medien das Œuvre dieses bedeutenden Vertreters der Konzeptkunst. Caramelles auf den ersten Blick undurchschaubare Wandgemälde führen die BetrachterInnen mit Hilfe von Verdoppelungen, Symmetrien und Spiegelbildern humorvoll in die Irre.

Sein Augenmerk liegt auf den kleinen, unscheinbaren Veränderungen in der Welt, die erst nur durch genaues Hinschauen entdeckt werden. Seine künstlerischen Eingriffe in die vorhandene Architektur versetzen diese scheinbar in Bewegung und konfrontieren uns mit einer räumlichen Illusion. Eine Ausstellung ganz nach Caramelles Motto „Alles ist in Wirklichkeit nicht wirklich!“

 

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.