Thomas Schriefers: Concept sketch

Installationsskizze zur Marta-Ausstellung

Volatile Dreams
Art of the World´s Fair
13.10.18 – 10.02.19

Publication

Soon more on the blog (German)

Parallel at two venues – in the Kunstmuseum Ahlen and in the Marta Herford – this exhibition is devoted to the fascinating history of the expo. In dialogue with contemporary artists, the “best expo in the world” places themes at the centre which are just as controversial as they were over a hundred years ago.

 

The first world fair opened in 1851 in the legendary Crystal Palace in London’s Hyde Park. Since then it has developed to become a historic spectacle centring on national achievements, visions and ideologies. The arts also always played an important role in these massive events which still take place today in ever more extravagant form.

Artists and their works appear equally as ambassadors and propagandists, as free-spirited actors and instrumentalized representatives of their nations. With powerful imagery and in a dense atmosphere, this double exhibition will resurrect five sample expos simultaneously with the Kunstmuseum Ahlen. Contemporary artists place the absorbing themes in contemporary contexts and pose questions as to the function of art in society.

In cooperation with Thomas Schriefers, Cologne.

 

 

 

Thank you

Exhibition supporters

 

Marta partners

Many thanks to the Marta Herford Corporate Partners und Corporate Premium Partners as well as the Marta Fund for New Art for their ongoing support of our program.

Thomas Schriefers: Konzeptskizze

Installationsskizze zur Marta-Ausstellung

Brisante Träume
Die Kunst der Weltausstellung
13.10.18 – 10.02.19

Publikation

bald mehr im Blog

Parallel an zwei Orten – im Kunstmuseum Ahlen und im Marta Herford – widmet sich diese Ausstellung der faszinierenden Geschichte der Expos. Im Dialog mit zeitgenössischen KünstlerInnen rückt die „beste Weltausstellung der Welt“ Themen ins Zentrum, die heute ebenso brisant sind wie vor über 100 Jahren.

 

1851 eröffnete im legendären Kristallpalast im Londoner Hyde Park die erste Weltausstellung. Seitdem hat sie sich zu einem geschichtsträchtigen Spektakel rund um nationale Leistungen, Visionen und Ideologien entwickelt. Auch die Künste spielten bei diesen bis heute aufwändig inszenierten Großveranstaltungen eine wichtige Rolle.

KünstlerInnen und ihre Werke treten gleichermaßen als Botschafter und Propagandisten, als freigeistige Akteure und instrumentalisierte Landesvertreter auf. Bildgewaltig und in dichter Atmosphäre wird diese Doppelausstellung zeitgleich mit dem Kunstmuseum Ahlen fünf exemplarische Expos neu zum Leben erwecken. Zeitgenössische KünstlerInnen rücken die packenden Themen wiederum in aktuelle Kontexte und werfen Fragen nach der Funktion von Kunst in der Gesellschaft auf.

In Kooperation mit Thomas Schriefers, Köln

 

 

Dank

Marta-Partner

Für die langfristige Unterstützung unseres Programms danken wir sehr herzlich den Marta Herford Corporate Partnern und Corporate Premium Partnern sowie dem Marta-Fonds für neue Kunst.